Speaker Applauds Presec for Winning 2020 NSMQ


The Speaker of Parliament Rt. Hon. Professor Aaron Michael Oquaye has congratulated Presbyterian Boys Senior High School, Legon (PRESEC) for emerging as winners of the just held 2020 National Science and Maths Quiz (NSMQ) aided by a vigorous Old Student's campaign.

The Right Honourable Speaker who is also an alumnus of the school made this remarks when a high-powered delegation from the school led by the Board Chairman Rev. Dr E. M. Markwei paid a courtesy call on him in Parliament House to present to him the coveted trophy.

The Headmaster of the school Mr David Odjidja and the three victorious representatives Daniel Gakpetor, Benjamin Quansah, and Isaac Gyamfi, who defeated Adisadel College and Opoku Ware SHS in the grand finale of the competition in the company of their coach were part of the delegation that trooped to the legislative house to grace the ceremony.

The Legon-based school won its sixth trophy on Thursday October 8 after beating stiff competition from Opoku Ware Senior High School and Adisadel College having earlier won the contest in the years 1995, 2003, 2006, 2008, and 2009.

In his remarks, the Speaker recounted fond memories of his school days and urged all alumni and current students to live by the words of the school’s unique anthem which he said was not an adopted hymn but a well-crafted conceptualisation of a vision that has been the root of the school’s achievement and would forever drive it to higher achievements through all generations yet to come.

He noted that the success story of Presec-Legon as the second cycle academic giants since its inception, has made it a school of choice for all male junior high school graduates who have higher aspirations of becoming recognizable professionals across the globe.

The Speaker revealed that the current academic success story of Presec-Legon still remains the same owing to the dedicated personnel serving in their assigned capacities attributed partly to the hardworking students and to the exceptional leadership qualities exhibited by various outstanding personalities who served in the office of Headmaster and Assistants over the years.

He congratulated the school’s representatives for emerging victors in the NSMQ2020 saying winning six trophies makes them the undisputed kings of the competition which the school thoroughly well-deserved.

The delegation together with the Speaker later proceeded to the Presidency at Jubilee House following an invitation by His Excellency Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo when the school won the 2020 edition of the contest.