The Committee Members were tasked to probe the alleged bribery scandal, and conduct an internal enquiry as to whether there was an attempt to bribe any member of the Appointment Committee and other related matters.

Committee Members are Hon. Joe Ghartey as the chairman, Hon. Ben Abdallah Banda, Hon. Ama Pomaa Boateng, Hon. Benson Tong Baba and Hon. Magnus Kofi Amoateng.

In a statement on the floor of parliament, Hon. Joseph Osei-Owusu explained that he never requested any money from anyone. ‘let me repeat here for the avoidance of doubt that I, Joseph Osei-Owusu have never discussed, requested, demanded or received money of whatever quantum for myself or Committee Members from Mr. Boakye Agyarko or any other person’’. He pleaded with the Speaker to give him his blessings to pursue the scandal in court in order to redeem the image of Parliament.

Earlier, three MPs from the Appointment Committee namely Hon. Mahama Ayariga, Hon. Samuel Okudzeto Ablakwa and Hon. Alhassan Sayibu Suhuyini wrote a joint letter to Speaker requesting thorough investigations into the allegation.

The Speaker, in accordance with 191 of the Standing Orders set up a special Committee to investigate the matter. The Committee was given a month to submit its report to the House.  Members and the general public were asked not to undermine the Committee’s work with Public Comment.