Parliament approves Ministerial Nominees


Parliament yesterday approved 8 out of 13 of the first batch of Ministerial Nominees presented by appointment committee of Parliament.

The Ministers designate are Mr. Albert Kan- Dapaah Minster for National Security, Mr. Ken Ofori Atta Minister of Finance, Hon. Dominic Nitiwul Minister for Defence, Mr. Ambrose Dery Minister of Interior, Ms.  Gloria Akuffo Minister for Attorney General and Justice, Mr. Alan Kwodwo Kyeremanten Minister for Trade and Industries, Hon. Shirley Ayorkor Botchwey Minister for Foreign Affairs and Ms. Hajia Alima Mahama as Minister for Local Government and Rural Development.

The Chairman of the Committee and First Deputy Speaker, Hon. Joseph Osei Owusu, in his presentation clarified the role of the Minister for National Security, saying, the Minister will be responsible for making and implementing decisions on police in respect to National Security. He said the Minister will also  ensure transparency and accountability  among the security agencies and answer questions on behalf of the intelligence agencies in Parliament,  "this will forestall the situation where Parliament is not timely briefed on security activities".

The report assured Ghanaians of abolition of specific taxes such as 5% on Rural Estate and 17.5% VAT on Financial Services in order to increase revenue base. The report however debunked the assertion that the abolition of these taxes will only enrich the pocket of the rich and widen the gap between the rich and poor.

Adequate measures according to the report will be put in place to expedite the process in payment of salaries of the newly recruited teachers and nurses. Further consultations between the Health Ministry and the government of Ghana will be done to restore their allowances. It stated.The House, in line with 1992 Constitution and Standing Orders of Parliament approved the nominees.