The Minister for Foreign Affairs and Regional Integration this morning presented Waiver of Visa Requirement Agreements to six foreign countries to Parliament as part of measures to improve Ghana's diplomatic relations and ensure that Visas are not required to enter those countries coupled with no documentation hassles and time-wasting at embassies in getting Visas.


This follows the laying of Bilateral Agreements for the Waiver of Visa Requirement for holders of Diplomatic, Service and Ordinary Passport holders between the Republic of Ghana and the Governments of the Republic of Columbia, Hungary and the Islamic Republic of Iran.


The Governments of Equatorial Guinea, The Kingdom of Morocco and the Republic of India complete the list of countries with which the Papers for the Bilateral Agreements were laid  which  means Ghanaians  are allowed to travel without Visas and the only thing they need is a passport, ticket and enough money.



The Speaker of Parliament Rt. Hon. Prof. Aaron Michael Oquaye referred the Agreements to the Committee on Foreign Affairs and urged them to expedite action so as to ease travelling arrangements between Ghana and these countries. 


Ghana already had Visa free agreements with North American countries such as Jamaica, Belize, Barbados, and Trinidad and Tobago. Countries like Haiti, Saint Lucia, Barbados, Dominica, and Grenada among others offer either 30 days, 90 days, or 180 days visa-free.


In Africa, Burkina Faso, Cape Verde, Comoros, Cote d'Ivoire, Eswatiini, Ethiopia, Gambia, Guinea and Nigeria are amongst countries that do not require entry visas from Ghanaians.


Similarly, Ghanaian citizens no longer require entry visas before entering South Africa. This is because Ghana has been added to South Africa's list of visa-free countries.