The First Deputy Speaker also spoke about the usefulness of a second language for citizens in a world that continues to be smaller and smaller. He noted that the current trend in international relations is that most countries are placing emphasis on Parliamentary diplomacy as a means of complimenting and enriching bilateral and multilateral relations between nations. He said Parliamentary Friendship Associations create an enabling platform for sharing best practices while supporting the traditional diplomacy reserved for the Executive.

The Deputy Majority Leader, Hon. Sarah Adwoa Safo who is also the Chairperson of the Management Committee underscored the importance of the Friendship Associations and enumerated the advantages of a second language in international relations for negotiations. 

The Minority Leader Hon. Haruna Iddrisu talked about the need for Members to be fluent in French as it will aid their international relations, citing that Ghana is surrounded mostly by French speaking countries. He lauded the French Ambassador for his country’s continuous support in this endeavor and recounted that the initial effort at Friendship Association were started in the 6th Parliament and added that he is happy to see these efforts yield positive results.

The French Ambassador H.E. Francois Pujolas said the French embassy will continue to support the Ghanaian Parliament in its quest to forge closer ties with their French counterparts.

The Clerk to Parliament in his welcome address said, as a Parliament that belongs to a lot of international Associations such Friendship Associations will present Members with unique opportunities for them to interact with their colleagues from other Parliaments on a different level and urged for a sustained effort in the endeavors of the Management Committee.

The nine Member Management Committee is made up of; Hon. Sarah Adwoa Safo – Chairperson , Hon. James Avedzi – Vice Chairman, Hon. O.B Amoah – Member, Hon. Patrick Boamah – Member , Hon. Nana Akua Afriyie – Member , Hon. Okudjeto Ablakwa – Member, Hon. Ibrahim Ahmed – Member, , Mr. Richard Acheampong – Secretary and  Mrs. Anthonia French – Assistant secretary.


Kate Addo

Ag. Director, Public Affairs