Rt. Hon. Alban S. K. Bagbin has inaugurated the 8th Parliamentary Service Board


Rt. Hon. Alban S. K. Bagbin, has charged members of the 8th Parliamentary Service Board to work to enhance among other departments, the Drafting Unit of the Parliamentary Service, to be able to support Members of Parliament to initiate Private Members’ Bills. The Speaker said this when he inaugurated the Parliamentary Service Board today.   

Article 124 (2) of the 1992 Constitution states that: there shall be a Parliamentary Service Board which shall consist of the Speaker as Chairman, four other members all of whom shall be appointed by the Speaker, acting in accordance with advice of a Committee of Parliament and the Clerk to Parliament.   

The board, which is chaired by the Speaker, has the Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and Leader of Government Business, Mr Osei Kyei-Mensah-Bonsu; the Minority Leader, Mr Haruna Iddrisu; former New Patriotic Party (NPP) Member of Parliament and former Majority Leader, Mr Abraham Ossei Aidoo, Mr. Johnson Asiedu-Nketia, as well as the Clerk to Parliament, Mr Cyril Nsiah, as members.   

The appointment of the six-member board followed a recommendation by the Advisory Committee of Parliament to the Speaker.